top of page

You Are The Light

I can't help but to sing a little Godspell in my head as I read this week's text from Matthew - You are the salt of the earth... you are the light of the world...so let your light so shine!

Wading through the news of executive orders, people's lives turned upside down, and widespread anger and fear - I don't feel like there is a lot of light. A friend asked me last week how I managed to get through it all without shutting it out. Honestly - I told them - the time I spend with the kids in my life brings me so much joy.

I mean it. The time I spend each week directly helping others - be it the women's crafting circle that I sew with, the after school kids I tutor, or just time spent helping out a friend - those are the moments that touch my soul and bring me light.

We are the people of God. We have a light, and we can't be afraid to shine. We must stand up for our convictions. Yet we must know that our religious convictions do not dictate the laws of the country.

Yes, as people of faith our faith shapes our actions, our words and deeds - our very lives.

And as citizens, we want the freedom to be able to choose our actions.

Therefore we must stand up for the rights of all people.

As soon as we start targeting groups on account of their skin color, their faith, their gender, their sexuality, or their nationality - we begin judging, restricting, and oppressing whole groups of people.

Injustice everywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

I believe that God created us all to be free - and I understand my own freedom through the amazing life and teachings of Christ. Yet, if any of my brothers and sisters are not free - I am not free.

Therefore I will shine my light of love. Of kindness. Of genuine care.

I will do acts of compassion reaching out to those in need around me.

I will do acts of justice to work for real change in the world that creates those needs.

And I will not be alone.

Join together - with your family - with your church - with your community groups - and more. Find positive things to do to keep your light strong each day. Pray and look to the strength and guidance of the holy spirit.

You are the light of the world. Together we will continue to drive out the darkness in whatever forms it presents itself.

Peace,

Deacon Erin


RSS Feed
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page