top of page

Blessed are the Merciful

I don't know about you, but I am drained and exhausted just trying to keep up with the day to day. Each day I wake up and begin my day with what seems to be more of a damage report than what our Alexa calls "What's new".

Maybe I need to create better boundaries, priorities, and schedule my time in such a way that I'm more productive. The first week of the new US Presidential Administration can't be the only thing to blame for this blogpost being late, the newsletter going out days after it should, my laundry not being done, and my overall slowness.

Yet one of the most energizing conversation happened - political and religious - on facebook between a high school friend, college friend, husband, church friend, aunt, and past camper this morning. In 2 hours over 43 substaintial comments. The catalyst? A Bill Nye video addressing the scientific facts around abortion. Notably that life doesn't begin at conception.

Although the back and forth of the conversation happened quickly, and there were complicated issues being addressed by individuals with differing opinions and worldviews - I loved this moment - "I would just like to add this.. while some of us have different opinions i do appreciate not one person is cutting another down for their views.. this is a healthy debate/conversation... this needs to happen more, and not just on this topic. 👏"

And this week, the gospel text of Matthew brings us the beginning of the Beatitudes. Translated as blessed are or happy are. In our divided world today I was struck over and over with verse 7 - in the ECB - Happy are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

Hallelujah, the after school program I work with just kicked off again with an amazing grant. I'm not sure how that works since we haven't had a state budget in Illinois for YEARS. However, we are graciously brought "supper" (snack) each day - a piece of fruit, veggie, and a sandwich. Also, more funding for staff. It's so crazy how much a few more tutors make life A-MAZE-ING. Adequate attention for the kiddos. So good.

Last semester I was constantly dealing with young folks who were struggling with respecting one another. Being kind. Showing mercy when others made mistakes.

In our world today - we don't always model great mercy for our young people to see. If you have/work with kids you know they care far more about justice than mercy. And still we hear Jesus advocating for mercy, as well as the prophet Micah in our texts this week. "What does the Lord require of you - to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with our God."

To LOVE mercy. To love compassion and forgiveness - singing (and meaning it) "let it go" at the top of our lungs and moving on.

These verses helped me to see God's grounding love through the kind and merciful conversation of friends who will never be in the same room, but struggled together through a difficult conversation without resorting to any negativity. May they give you strength to go out and do the work God has placed in front of you.

Peace,

Deacon Erin


RSS Feed
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page